Friday, 11 March 2016

Review: These Days of Ours by Juliet Ashton



A novel about love. Raw important love. Small, beautiful love. And what happens when the person you love cannot be yours… Perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman, Jane Green and David Nicholls.

Kate and Becca are cousins and best friends. They have grown up together and shared all the most important milestones in their lives: childhood birthday parties, eighteenth birthdays, and now a wedding day as they each marry their childhood sweethearts, Charlie and Julian.

Kate has always loved Charlie - they were meant to be. Then she discovers that life never turns out quite how you expect it to. And love doesn't always follow the journey it should.

But best friends are forever, and true love will find a way, won't it…?


I am not the biggest fan of romance and stuff like that other then YA and some New Adult here and there. So I wouldn't have normally picked this up for myself. But I am really glad I have gotten to read this. Its not the most mindblowing book I have read but I have thoroughly enjoyed the ride.

This book is about life really and how it gets in your way. How one little action can change your life in ways you cant even begin to imagine. Its about the right and wrong timing. But most of all its about love.

It shows how live can affect you when you cant be with the person you love. It proves how much time we loose when we don't speak out about how we truly feel.

Kate's life is an absolute rollercoaster ride of up and downs and total twists. And it makes for a very interesting read. This is not your usual boy meets girl, falls in love, falls out, sorts things out and lives happily ever after. It is filled with plenty of inbetween. Full with what ifs and if onlys. I was hooked from the start. However somewhere about 3/4 in the book I got a little bored. I feel like Kate's life has been filled with a little to much unnecessary drama at that point. But it turned it all around some in the end.

This isn't just about love however, its about Family, loss, friendship and big dreams. The book is full of heart and beautiful written. I love how real the characters are and how real the relationships are. I think we all know love isn't always an easy ride and life certainly isn't always what we want it to be. This has captured Kate's journey in such a believable way, it could have been any us.

I have enjoyed reading These Days of Ours and I will be a bit more open minded about romances in the future for sure.

Thank you to Merle at Simon and Schuster for my copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

This book is being released tomorrow, 1st Match 2016.


No comments:

Post a comment